RCUK Policy Internship Application

Given my interest in the societal impact of scientific research and the public understanding of science, I recently applied for a research council funded internship at the Royal Society. If successful, I will spend 3 months with them in London some time next year (after my teaching commitments end in April).

As part of my application, I was asked to produce a short policy brief on a topic not directly related to my research (so no drones!). I chose the notion of “Electronic Personhood”, and more generally the possible rights, responsibilities and other legal issues we may face with respect to Artificial Intelligences in the not too distance future. The policy brief can be read here.

Leave a Reply

